Hello!

I’m back! In case you haven’t heard about this new concept for inexpensive wall art already, I thought I would pass it along to you.

You know those crazy ornate ceiling thingies that you all have either seen  as you strained your neck to look upwards in admiration or casually slipped past them at your local improvement store. I just figured out they are called ceiling medallions . Oops shame on me I know. I thought they were something more technical like mounts or something normal like that. lol. Anyway my point…ignore them not a moment longer.

If you are looking for a crafty, inexpensive way to cozy up that wall and add a little “umph” well, look no further.

I happened to find mine at a consignment store for a crazy bargain of $10 and I was thrilled. Though, I had immediate plans to spruce it up as soon as I could get my hands on it! 😉

I was excited that it was gold already so that saved me a little on paint and was just the perfect combination of scale, detail and that ideal metallic thing I was looking for to throw against my navy accent wall. Talk about a royal wall! 🙂 Blue, Gold, if that isn’t looking majestic enough already…I tell ya. Seriously, though, it was looking good, but I don’t know, it was just lacking in detail I suppose – at least I thought so.

So, I came up with a plan.

I decided to get a move on to Joann’s and pick up a few supplies. Silver flat head thumbtacks, jute, a tubes of bronze acrylic paint and a faint gold. I wanted to add a little dimension and deepen the gold a bit so it wasn’t so…BAM! I wanted more of a bronze tone. 

So, for everything in this project I spent no more than $22 ish. Not bad right?  You may have to spend a little more depending on the price of the medallions. Generally you can get them for between $25-$35 at your local Home Depot, Menards or Lowe’s store or online unless you practically land next to them at some random second hand store like I did…woohoo!

So anyhow, first I mixed the two paints together, dabbed the excess paint off and away I went, wiping after I painted. It gives you the extra stain of color without caking on the paint. You can better highlight the grooves and whatnot if you so choose.

Next I added some good old thumb tacks around the petals to add a little pop and definition to the area. I would have used nail head trim but I wasn’t about to go on a wild goose chase ok. I cheated…sorry! I think it turned out pretty nifty though.

Last but not least, I took some spray adhesive and sprayed the area on the outside where I was going to line the circle in jute. Than I started wrapping the jute around and hot glueing it for extra strength. I have issues with using just hot glue because it never seems to be permanent and it’s easily removable, which in this case I wasn’t after. So, that’s why I used the craft spray adhesive by Elmers. Great stuff. Give it a minute to get tacky. If you try to use it too quickly it will make you think it’s not working. Don’t let it lie, it is. 🙂 Just be patient.

So, basically, I just wrapped it around and around and when I got to the last ring, I did a little pushing and shoving and tucking to make room to get it under the final groove snugly. You can use  something flat to press the jute down as you go around because your fingers may get a little sticky along the way. FYI

In the end, this is what I ended up with.

As you may know or will soon find out, some of these medallions are much more decorative with extensive features, mine was much more of a simple one with room to enhance. So, you can be the judge. Some of you may just want to paint them, especially if you want to do a collection like that featured on apartment therapy. http://www.apartmenttherapy.com/ny/artwork/ceiling-medallions-on-the-wall-119287  They just painted them various shades of the same color group. However, you could do them in your chosen color palette if you wanted to as well. Basically, the possiblities are endless.

However, I chose just one as I wanted it to be the main focal point of the wall and I don’t have room for a collage of them, so I decided to add a little TLC to the one I had. Here’s what it ended up looking like. Let me know what you all think!

 

You can be as subtle or dramatic with paint colors and features as you want. I just wanted to enhance it with a little dimension using textures and breaking up the solid gold and going for a more bronze gold. 

It’s more dramatic in person. The camera isn’t so good in capturing the depth of color like I wish it was. Maybe someday I will be able to get that professional SLR camera I have been thinking about…until than, pardon my little kodak share fella.

So, time to get creative everyone! It’s a genius idea and I’m glad I found out about it and I hope you can benefit from the idea as well. Enjoy!

Be sure to post your pics so I can see before and after pics! Can’t wait!

Happy decorating!

Jamie

