Hi all!

Today’s project is super easy and practically free…as long as you plan ahead. I say practically because you will have to take a trip to the store for some contact paper. I actually scored some really cute contact paper at the dollar store so this project was virtually only a dollar. Pretty sweet huh?

All of us need ways to organize right? I don’t know about you but I absolutely can NOT stand clutter! It drives me bonkers! And gosh there are so many cool organization bins and whatnot that are super purposeful and some quite stylish, but sometimes they are just downright expensive. Who has all that extra money just to spend on equal the cost of a room makeover on storage and organization alone?….not me thank you very much.

So, quite some time ago I had this project in mind and so I started saving coffee cans to hold stuff like electric gadgets of ours – you know all those miscellaneous charger cords, usb chords, flash drives, camera and mp3 players and the list goes on. I don’t have junk drawer storage like most people so I have to be smart about organization. Plus, I must confess, even if I did, it wouldn’t be a junk drawer cause that’s how OCD I am ok?…no judging here 😉

So, anyways, what you need for this easy project.

  • A coffee can or a clean paint can ( you can also purchase these at your local paint department.)
  • contact paper of choice
  • a cutting mat or scissors

Not to bad right!

So basically measure the height and width of the can, leave a about 1/4 ” or so for overlap for when you wrap it around. Line and center it and wrap it on.

The awesome thing about contact paper is that you can just peel it off if  and rewrap it on if you goof up and it’s not quite on centered. Make sure to smooth out wrinkles as you go, though.

The downside to using a coffee can is the little rivets show up, so if that bothers you like it did me, just put some construction paper underneath to make it flat or just go for the paint cans which are usually flat, at least the unfinished ones that I mentioned in the paint department are.

I still have a few more to make but I figured I could at least show you what it ended up looking like. I plan on adding labels to all of them that I will just design in my program because my handwriting is awful unless I have my favorite pen, which I can’t find anywhere! grrr….

Anyways, you don’t have to limit this project to just random misc. stuff! You could do this for the bathroom for wash clothes, in the kitchen for utensils, a decorative way to display some fresh-cut flowers and well the possibilities are many.

So, that’s my crafty idea for today. Hope you find it useful on organizing your spaces!

Let me know your thoughts and comments on this little mini organizational project.

Jamie

P.S. In case you noticed the awful wallpaper in the back, well, as soon as money allows I plan to prime and rewallpaper with a paintable beadboard paper. So, I will share that with you when the time comes. I’m waiting anxiously to tackle that area.

